top of page

View score | Listen music




Flute 1, 2
Oboe 1, 2
English Horn

Bassoon 1, 2
Eb Clarinet
Clarinet in Bb 1

Solo Clarinet in Bb 1, 2, 3

Alto Clarinet

Bass Clarinet
Contrabass Clarinet (in Bb)

Alto Saxophone 1, 2
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone

Cornet in Bb 1, 2, 3

Trumpet in Bb 1, 2

Horns in F 1, 2, 3, 4

Trombone 1, 2, 3

Bass Trombone

Euphoniums 1, 2

Bass Tuba I

Bass Tuba II


Double Bass

Timpani + Bongos (4 different heights or Toms) Glockenspiel
Percussion 1:

- Snare Drum;

- Woodblocks*: L.W.: Low Woodblock, H.W.: High Woodblock Percussion 2:

- Basque Tambourine (Tambourine); - Vibra Slap;
- Triangle;
- Whip;

- (also Woodblocks)*;

- High-Mid Tom; Low-Mid Tom Percussion 3:

- Crash Cymbals (Hand Cymbals); - Suspended Cymbal (large);
- Tam-Tam;
- Large Gong;

- Suspended China Cymbal Bass Drum


Program Notes


I. Ouverture de la Suite
II. Lyrique
III. Valse ?
IV. Final: Introduction, Fugato et Marche


The composition is inspired by the instrumental suites. Within the four movements a modern-style dance choreography can be included. The presence of a mime could also be foreseen, who will have to be masked (made up) by Pierrot, who will observe in an artistic way the performance of the dancers (by a minimum of one man and one woman, or more dancers) musical material used:


The musical style is atonal, with tonal incursions but with evident use of multiple polytonality. In addition to original themes, here we will also find some "echoes" of later movements (Ouverture).

Subsequently we are plunged into a monochromatic and significantly darker atmosphere, conveyed by the use of the octotonic scale (whole and half steps) (Lyrique).


A new atmosphere comes through the use of a new scale that mixes with the previous sounds. The scale is nicknamed "ThreeSemiTonic Scale" (composed of three semitones, three whole tones and three semitones), all this breaks into a very sonorous and succulent verticality. (Valse ?).


Taking advantage of the scales and the previous vision, after an introduction and a fugato (based again on the octophonic scale), the final material that turns into a big march arrives. Here we have a new scale too (three whole tones - two semitones and two whole tones) (Final)

#Suite by Marco Salvaggio (Italy)

  • Composer


    Nato a Noto, nel giugno 2021, consegue il diploma accademico di II Livello in Strumentazione per Orchestra di Fiati presso il conservatorio Cherubini di Firenze con 110 e lode, nella classe del M° Lauro Graziosi. Presso il conservatorio V. Bellini di Palermo consegue i diplomi accademici di II Livello in Composizione con 110 lode e menzione nella classe del M° Fabio Correnti - luglio 2018, Direzione d’Orchestra con 110 lode e menzione d’onore nella classe del M° Carmelo Caruso - marzo 2015 e il diploma Accademico di I Livello in Direzione d’Orchestra con 110 lode - febbraio 2013.


    Nell’ottobre 2018, presso l’Accademia Pianistica Incontri col Maestro di Imola, consegue il Diploma di perfezionamento triennale in Direzione d’orchestra nella classe del M° Marco


    Boni e si specializza in direzione di repertorio moderno ottenendo il CAS - Corso Avanzato Studi - in direzione di Ensemble di Musica Contemporanea sotto la guida del M° Arturo Tamayo presso il Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana di Lugano nel 2014-15. Presso il conservatorio C. Monteverdi di Cremona, nell’anno accademico 2008-2009 consegue il Biennio di Formazione docenti in Clarinetto (didattica strumentale) e presso il Conservatorio di Caltanissetta si Diploma in clarinetto nell’anno 2001.

  • Grade

    5 - 6

  • Duration


bottom of page