top of page

MUSICA BOEMA, Op 137 for Wind Orchestra by ZDENEK LUKAS (Czech Republic 1928 - 2007)

[#131] January 24, 2022 1977 | Wind Orchestra | Grade 5 | 15’-20’ | Symphony

Czech composer Zdenek Lukas

Musica Boema by Czech composer Zdenek Lukas is our Composition of the Week.

Musica Boema was commissioned in 1977 by Joel Blahník for Stanley DeRusha, who premiered the work with the Michigan State University Wind Symphony on December 11, 1978, at the CBDNA Conference.

An earlier work by Lukas written in 1966, Sonata Concertata for Piano and Symphonic Band, Op.49, was also premiered in the same program.

Musica Boema is scored for winds, brass, harp, xylophone and glockenspiel and cast in two movements. It has a duration of 18 minutes. It is Lukas’ Op. 137

The work is available at Alliance Publications.

Zdenĕk Lukáš began composing during his high school years, while he studied music theory with Antonín Mádr from 1943 to 1946, and composition with Jaroslav Řídký.

His early compositions have a definite late romantic style which was influenced by Czech folksongs. After meeting composer Miloslav Kabeláč in 1962, Lukas started shifting to a more modern language. Kabeláč was an important support for Lukáš gradually establishing his reputation as a well-respected composer. He was very prolific, having left over 330 works to his credit, including 6 symphonies, several operas, chamber music, many concertos as well as several works for concert band.


Other works by Zdenek Lukas include:

  • Finale, Op.83 (1972)

  • Finale, Op.190 (1984)

  • Sinfonia Brevis, Op.265 (1995)

  • Prague Festive Music, Op.267 (1995)

  • Ave Maria, Aria for Winds, Op.325 (2002)

  • Slavia – Galopp, Op.273 (1995)

  • Choral – Präludium, Op.282 (1996)

  • Musica Bohemica, Overture for Large Wind Orchestra, Op.285 (1997)

  • Message, Symphonic Poem for Large Wind Orchestra, Op.295 (1998)

  • Metamorphosis, Op.299 (1998)

  • Kyrie Eleison to the Memory of Saint Wenceslas, King of Bohemia, Op.331 (2003)

  • Fanfare for the Music of the Castle Guard, Op.337


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page