top of page

SUSSURRI DELL’OMBRA for Orchestral Winds by ANNELIES VAN PARYS (Belgium,1975)

[#236] January 29, 2024

2014 | Orchestral Winds | Grade 6 | 5' - 10' | Tone poem

Belgian composer Annelies van Parys

Sussurri dell’ombra, by Belgian composer Annelies van Parys is our Composition of the Week.


Sussurri dell’ombra (Shadow Whispers) was commissioned by The Royal Flemish Philharmonic and premiered on 11 May 2014 at Amuz, Antwerp, Belgium, under conductor Jacob Slagter.

The work is written in a single movement and has a duration of 7 minutes.

It is scored for the following instrumentation:


3 Flutes, (3rd doubling Piccolo), 2 Oboe, 1 Cor Anglais, 1 Clarinet in Eb, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons, 1 Contrabassoon / 4 Horns in F, 1 Piccolo Trumpet, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 2 Tenor trombones, 1 Bass trombone, 1 tuba.


Annelies Van Parys is one of Belgium’s leading composers. She writes solo and chamber music works as well as large orchestral compositions with a great preference for music theatre. Since 2007, she is a resident composer of Muziektheater Transparant.

She has received direct commissions from venues and performers such as Belgian National Orchestra, Staatsoper unter den Linden Berlin, Folkoperan Stockholm, Biennale Musica di Venezia and Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam and wrote for ensembles such as Recherche Freiburg, Ictus Ensemble, Asko/Schoenberg, and Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart. She was awarded numerous prizes (amongst them, the Fedora-Rolf Liebermann for Opera)


Annelies Van Parys has won many awards for her work, such as Flandres-Québec, Jeunesses Musicales, Tactus, and Frere Darche and was awarded the prestigious Rolf Liebermann Prize for Opera (for the opera Private View).


USHER was selected for the International Opera Awards 2018 in the category World Premières.

In 2019 Annelies van Parys receives Klara Prizes for Composition and Music Personality of the year 2018 (Classical Music Awards).

Since 2008, Annelies Van Parys teaches orchestration, analysis, and composition at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. She is also Honorary Ambassador of the Royal Conservatory of Ghent.



Other Works for winds include:


·      Meditation (2005) for double wind quintet

·      Canzon (2007 – 2008) for 1000.Sax(3)/1330.piano. doublebass


More on Annelies van Parys






Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page