top of page

1997 WASBE


Image by Tim Depickere

The Eighth WASBE Conference, 1997,  was held in Schladming, Austria.

Trumpet made by Yamaha shown at the Schladming conference in 1997.

Wasbe1997 austria-mountain.jpg

High mountains of Steiermark, Austria at the Schladming conference in 1997.

  1. Säo Paolo State Symphonic Band (Brazil), Roberto Farias, conductor

  2. Alfred Reed conducting Senzoku Gakuen Symphonic Wind Orchestra (Japan)

  3. Östgöta Wind Symphony (Sweden), Arie van Beek, Conductor

  4. Uli Müller-Adam (Tenor) and Marianne Halder (Soprano) with Stadtorchester Friedrichshaven (Germany), Motti Miron, Conductor

  5. Carsten Svanberg, Trombone soloist, Danish Concert Band, Jorgen Misser Jensen, Conductor

  6. Soloists from the Royal Air Force Band Oman with the Pannonisches Blasorchester (Austria), Peter Forcher, Conductor

  7. Militärmusik des Gardebataillons Wien (Austria), Oberst Hans Schadenhauer, Conductor

  8. Clarinet Choir of the Swiss Army Central Band, Josef Gnos, Conductor

  9. Oklahoma State University Wind Ensemble (USA), Joseph Missal, Conductor

  10. University of Nebraska at Lincoln Wind Ensemble (USA), Jay Kloecker, Conductor

  11. Felix Hauswirth (Switzerland), WASBE President (1997-2001), Hermann Kröll, Bürgermeister of Schladming, Austria, and Wolfgang Suppan (Austria), WASBE President (1995-97)

  12. The Allentown Band (USA), Ronald Demkee, Conductor

  13. Timothy Reynish (United Kingdom), WASBE President (1999-2001) and Joseph Horovitz (United Kingdom), composer

  14. Karel Husa (United States), composer and conductor of the International Youth Wind Orchestra

  15. Felix Hauswirth, President (1997-2001) addressing the WASBE Gala Dinner

bottom of page